Отель «Matreshka» - г. Москва
Matreshka Hotel, Moscow.Official website
Booking

History

Hotel Matreshka is located in the buildings of the Central (Khludovsky) Baths, owned by four Moscow millionaire sisters - the daughters of a textile manufacturer and merchant Gerasim Khludov.

Khludov was a famous Moscow collector, in his collection there were paintings by Russian artists Perov, Fedotov, Kapkov, Rizzoni, Aivazovsky.

The grand opening of the complex took place after the death of Khludov, in 1893. The complex should become a counterbalance to the successful baths of the Sandunov Sila, huge halls with a stunning decor were in no way inferior to Sandun’s.

From the beginning, Central Baths were visited by generals, artists of the Bolshoi Theater, and many famous people. One of the regular visitors was Leo Tolstoy. Anton Chekhov came frequently.

 

Just before the revolution, Alexandra Naidenova, one of Khludov's daughters, decided to take gold and silver from the bank and hide it in a safe place until better times. Nobody saw Alexandra Naidenova in the Central Baths any more. Employees of the All-Russian Extraordinary Commission for Combating Counterrevolution and Sabotage in 1918 were interested in these treasures: the whole territory of the Central Baths was searched for several days. In some places, the floors were uncovered - treasures were not found. Since then, none of the Khludov’s family were interested in these treasures.

The history of the Central Baths has ended in a mystical way. According to the legend, on the Central Baths opening day, an elderly woman from a gypsy ensemble told the chief architect Eybushits, that the Baths would work exactly a century. The architect did not understand Russian very well and asked his colleague Chagin to explain what the woman meant. Chagin did not frustrate his friend and lied – saying that "century" means "eternal". However, the prediction was fulfilled: at first, the baths began to suffer financially in the era of Perestroika. In 1993, there was a fire, after which only four halls were preserved.

Отель «Matreshka» - г. Москва
«Матрёшка», г. Москва. Официальный сайт
Бронирование

История отеля

Отель Матрешка располагается в корпусах Центральных (Хлудовских) бань, принадлежащим четырем московским сестрам-миллионершам – дочерям текстильного фабриканта и купца Герасима Хлудова.

Хлудов был известным московским коллекционером, в его собрании были живописные полотна русских художников Перова, Федотова, Капкова, Риццони, Айвазовского.

Торжественное открытие комплекса состоялось уже после смерти Хлудова, в 1893 году. Комплекс должен стал противовесом успешным баням Силы Сандунова, огромные залы с потрясающим декором ничуть не уступали Сандунам.

С самого начала Центральные бани посещали генералы, артисты Большого театра, и немало известных людей. Одним из постоянных посетителей был Лев Толстой. Частенько заходил Антон Чехов.

Незадолго до революции Александра Найденова, одна из дочерей Хлудова, решила забрать из банка золото и серебро и спрятать до лучших времен в надежном месте. Больше Найденову в Центральных банях никто не видел. Сотрудники ВЧК в 1918 году интересовались этими ценностями: всю территорию Центральных бань несколько дней тщательно обыскивали, в нескольких местах вскрывали полы — не нашли. С тех пор никто из поколений семейства Хлудовых этими ценностями не интересовался.

Закончилась история бань довольно мистическим образом. По легенде, в день открытия Центральных бань одна пожилая женщина из цыганского ансамбля сказала главному архитектору Эйбушитцу, что бани проработают ровно век. Архитектор не очень хорошо понимал русский и попросил коллегу Чагина пояснить, что женщина имела в виду. Чагин не стал расстраивать друга и обманул, сказав, что «век» значит «вечный». Однако предсказание сбылось: сначала бани начали финансово страдать в эпоху перестройки, а в 1993 году случился пожар, после которого сохранилось только четыре зала.